top of page
Search

Emerging Priorities

My Response

As my Vision and Mission Statement clearly indicate, what I advocate for is stakeholder communication and collaboration.  Within that framework, I feel that my specific priorities will be identified by those stakeholders; I am here to represent the needs and opinions of my constituents – the students, the parents and the teachers.  Throughout the campaign a number of issues have been brought to me repeatedly in conversations, phone calls and e-mails.  I have posted my thoughts on a number of these issues in the Community Dialogue section of this website but in these final hours of the campaign, I felt it was probably best to provide a synopsis of the issues that are emerging as relevant priorities.  The order of presentation reflects to a certain degree the frequency of mention of the issue and my own weighting of them:


· Equitable education opportunities for all students regardless of culture, background or ability

· Inclusive schools where all students and families feel welcome

· Reinstatement of the Ontario's 2015 Health and Physical Education Curriculum

· Physical fitness that is activity based and generalizable to life beyond the school

· Student mental health and wellness

· Exploring and supporting innovative teaching practices that prepare our children for their future not ours

· Accountability and transparency in decision making by the Board

· Evaluation and measurable outcomes for programs and initiatives

· Ensuring that the 4 Cs of 21st century learning – creativity, critical thinking, communication and collaboration - are intrinsic to all programs

· Evaluation of school infrastructure specifically regarding the issue of hot schools

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Teacher Absenteeism (Revised)

Concern was expressed with regard to my earlier comment that I would support making teacher absenteeism data publicly accessible.  This point needs to be clarified. My Response This was, interestingly

Bay Ward / Zone 4 Challenges

What issues directly affect our schools? Some have asked me what challenges are directly affecting my ward / zone. These were some of my opinions on the topic. My Response The greatest challenge in Ba

EQAO

Do we really need it? The straight out question - where do you stand on EQAO and standardized testing in general? My Response Now there's a can of worms.  I guess the best place to start is to say tha

Community Dialogue

​

Welcome to my community dialogue.  As people are bringing issues to me in person or by e-mail I will share their ideas and my responses with you.  I will keep adding to the list over the weeks to come.

bottom of page